The International Photography Hall of Fame and Museum Announces 2016 Inductees on World Photo Day

The International Photography Hall of Fame and Museum’s (IPHF) – based in the United States – just announced its 2016 Photography Hall of Fame inductees, including world-renowned photographers, a photojournalist, digital photography innovators and a documentary filmmaker.

  • Ken Burns, documentary filmmaker
  • Ernst Haas, 20th century professional photographer
  • Steve Jobs, former Apple Inc. chairman and CEO and technology pioneer
  • John Knoll, co-creator of Adobe Photoshop
  • Thomas Knoll, co-creator of Adobe Photoshop
  • Annie Leibovitz, portrait photographer
  • Graham Nash, creator of fine art digital photography and musician
  • Sebastião Salgado, documentary photographer and photojournalist


Image Credits: Graham Nash (Amy Grantham), Ken Burns (Tim Llewellyn Photography), Sebastiao Salgado (UNICEF/HQ01-0123/ NICOLE TOUTOUNJI), Steve Jobs (GettyImages).

The IPHF is the only organization worldwide that recognizes and honors those who have had a significant impact on the evolution of photography. This year, the IPHF is inducting industry visionaries and photographers that embody the spirit, artistry and innovation of modern photography.

“Our 2016 inductees are some of the top innovators and pioneers in the field, and have helped to shape and define modern photography,” said Patty Wente, executive director of the IPHF. “We are honored to recognize their accomplishments and the impact they have had on the world – bridging photography’s pioneering past with its fantastic future.”

Half of this year’s inductees have been instrumental in the development of technology that has evolved digital photography, such as John and Thomas Knoll, brothers and co-creators of Adobe Photoshop. With the creation of Adobe Photoshop, the Knoll brothers set the standard in digital photo editing and revolutionized the way people create and edit images.


Image Credits: Thomas Knoll (None Provided), John Knoll (None Provided), Ernst Haas (None Provided).

Inductees also include world renowned photographers, such as Annie Leibovitz, who has spent the last 45 years photographing famous celebrities, political figures, musicians and athletes. Annie has created some of the world’s most iconic images, including her famous Rolling Stone cover of John Lennon and Yoko Ono in 1980, which was taken hours before he died, or her recent Vanity Fair cover of Caitlyn Jenner, when she revealed herself as a woman.

inductee's work

Image Credits: Blue Sky Scraper, New York (Ernst Haas), Untitled (Sebastiao Salgado), New York (Ernst Haas), Traffic, New York (Ernst Haas), Untitled (Sebastiao Salgado).

These distinguished photographers and innovators will be honored at this year’s Induction and 50th Anniversary Celebration Event on Friday, October 28 in St. Louis, Missouri in the United States.

For more information on the IPHF and the International Photography Hall of Fame, visit or follow the IPHF on Facebook or Twitter.

Want to know more about this year’s Photography Hall of Fame inductees? Each week, we’ll be spotlighting a new inductee on our blog, so be sure to check back starting next week!


By |2017-01-27T02:35:58+00:00August 19th, 2016|Photography|0 Comments

Leave A Comment